Sporting Sorrows

Deeply Frustrated from the South Bay wrote:

Jefe, what’s the deal with men and sports? It seems like you’re all obsessed with every sport known to man and have to watch every single game. My boyfriend flips the channels from one game to another…watches them til the end, then switches to another sport and does the same. When does it ever end? I’ve tried to support his passion for sports but there’s only so much I can take. -Deeply Frustrated 

DF (not to be confused with DF/Mexico City or the Chilangos therein), I’m sure you’re not the only one who has this problem.  Ever hear of the football widow?  It basically refers to women who “lose” their significant other to the football season.  My sister falls into that category because my cuñado (Homer Simpson) has the NFL Game Day package and spends his entire Sundays watching football. 

I will admit that I too fall into the trappings of sports.  We men, after all, like competition.  If your viejo grew up playing sports, chances are he likes to watch.  If he watches obsessively, then you might have a problem. 

I appreciate the fact that you try to support his passion but if it’s affecting your relationship adversely, then you need to try and talk to him about it.  If that doesn’t work, here are a few suggestions to gain his attention away from the games: 

  1. Go to your fuse box and turn the main off.
  2. Tell him that you got tickets for a game and that the only way he can go is to take you out and do something you like.
  3. Hide the remote.
  4. Walk in front of the TV wearing your sessiest (I know it’s sexiest but I spell it the way I say it) lingerie.  If he doesn’t respond and turn off the TV, you need a sancho or a new vato all together. 

All relationships are give and take.  I’m sure there are things that you are obsessed with that he overlooks.  Communication is the key but sometimes lingerie will help unlock that door.

Submit your questions to: ask_jefe@yahoo.com

One response to “Sporting Sorrows

Leave a Reply

